Holidaze

The holiday season is my absolute favorite. I love that feeling while walking around campus or downtown Hudson, my home town. People are so cheery, all bundled up and ready to go home to a fire. It’s so weird, but when I see people all bundled up and walking around in the cold I just imagine them thinking “oh my god I can’t wait to go home and make a cup of coffee and watch a holiday movie!” Am I the only one that thinks that or…?

I have been down here in Florida with my mom since the semester ended. There might not be white snow… but there is white sand. So, for now, I’ll settle. Here are a few pictures of the holidays down in Florida:

2015-12-11 15.34.52-2

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
We kinda like the holidays
2015-12-11 20.07.03
Golf cart parade
Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Santas Sleigh- golf cart edition
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Toys for Tots

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Last year, I spent my thanksgiving break with my boyfriends family. It was my first holiday without my parents being in the same town, so I was really split between where I wanted to be. Ben, my boyfriend, has such a generous family. I mean these people would open up their house to anyone that needed a helping hand. So, naturally, they invited me to stay for break, and I decided to do it.

The week was so fun! They have so many fun traditions that their family does… monkey bread Thanksgiving morning, game night, and girls shopping day are just a few. I learned so much about his family and bonded so well with them… the only thing missing was my family.

This year, we will al be in Florida for Christmas. My mom and sister live here, and my dad is flying down. I have been here for a week now and let me tell you… Christmas is different down here. The palm trees are decorated with lights instead of an evergreen. The sand is white, but not as white as snow.

The people are different too… not many people my age. And by that I mean the average age is probably over 70 years old. I love the elders, so its fun! I’ll just leave it at that.

As different as it is down here, it is beginning to feel more like home. Maybe becoming more familiar with the place is helping, but it seems that the holidays can feel like home wherever you go as long as you’re with the right people. This year  I will be with all of the right people, and for that I am thankful.

 

Leave a Reply

