When Life Hands You Lemons

freakin’ squeeze the sh*t outta them!

Okay, not literally. But in all seriousness, opportunities. Take advantage of those things!

This semester so far has been a whirl-wind of new experiences. I have met great people, mean people, fun people, boring people. I have work too many hours, worked too little hours, and shopped too much. I have studied my ass off and neglected to study my ass off (Criminal Minds was on…). I have stayed in and watched movies on a Friday night. I have went out and partied a little too hard. All of these things are good! Even when I feel like I am doing all of the wrong things, it is important to remember that you are a result of your choices. Own that sh*t and be true to who you are.

With that being said, I am someone that takes advantage of my opportunities. That internship expo that you made fun of people going to… I went to that. I have found that I am my happiest when I am swamped with work and can’t find a minute to chill. For some people, that is when they work their hardest. So true for me!

My fav quotes about opportunity:

1.  Nothing can substitute experience.

2. Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.

I hate luck. I have the worst luck. You know who has good luck? My boyfriend, Ben. This kid…. OMG IT ANGERS ME TO WRITE IT. I am always saying how lucky he is. I mean things fall from the sky and he is like “oh look, $20 just dropped right in front of me.” And its never a big deal to him! Since I have zero luck, I make up for it by taking charge of my future and trying to steer it. Being the control freak that I am, this quotation could not say it any better… Prepare for what you want, pursue what need, and opportunity will arise. 

3. Its never too late to start over.

Maybe I believe in the quotation too much. I always believe in second chances. Heck, I got a second chance to find the right college… a not so cheap decision. But, in all honesty, if it is important, you can turn things around. Try a new approach. Maybe the approach works but the daily plan doesn’t. Write a pro/con list. Go sit in nature. Draw something. Do what you need to do to find your feet and give it another shot. 

I hope this posts finds you well and gives you that little extra push to keep chugging along until THANKSGIVING!

One thought on “When Life Hands You Lemons

Leave a Reply

